Bi-Partisan Philosophy from the Democrat’s Best B-Baller…

Here is a quote from Bill Bradley’s new book, The New American Story. It may not be ground-breaking thought, but I like its simplicity and context in today’s politics:

“Because (special interest groups’) agendas dominate, what rarely gets addressed comprehensively is what most people want: affordable health care, excellent schools, adequate pensions, a clean environment, and an economy that generates more and more well-paying jobs. Instead, an inordinate amount of attention goes to issues such as abortion, gay rights, gun control, medical marijuana, the display of the Ten Commandments, the wording of the Pledge of Allegiance, or the subsidy desires of a particular corporation or industry — issues that don’t motivate the majority but are all important to the activists.”

The book seems interesting, and I might get to reading it if I didn’t take me a month or two to finish a single book. I much prefer articles… I have a short attention span and want to learn about as much as I can all at once.

However, I am reading a book called Wikinomics I enjoy a great deal. I may or may not blog about it when I am finished.

Here is a link to a review of this book in the New York Times…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

